Awesome Reading Site and Fun Online Reading Challenge

One of my favorite reading sites is We Give Books. This fantastic site both promotes a love of reading, and helps give books to children in need. According to the We Give Books site, it “enables anyone with access to the Internet to put books in the hands of children who don’t have them, simply by reading online.” The online books available on the site are a mix of fiction and nonfiction picture books, appropriate for children up to age ten. New books are added monthly, and there are books suited for read-alouds and independent reading. There is a wide variety of books, and you can search by genre, age range, or author. Best of all, it is FREE to join and read books online, and for every book you or your child reads, a book will be donated for free!

Currently We Give Books is offering a fun online reading challenge in conjunction with WWE. Get more information here for how your child can join the WrestleMania Reading Challenge 2014, which includes reading with an online reading buddy and the chance to win great prizes. http://www.wegivebooks.org/wwe

Read great children’s books for a great cause! Support literacy by reading, sharing, and giving on http://www.facebook.com/WeGiveBooks, @WeGiveBooks on Twitter, or www.wegivebooks.org.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jasmine Weins
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 06:14:15

    Petra, this is great and exactly what I was looking for. DD has just picked up basic reading skills online at http://www.jumpstart.com/ (she’s also a pre-schooler but hasn’t yet enrolled in school) and I was looking for more. I usually read to her at bedtime but I’d love to encourage more self reading. Plus, a site that gives back? Bonus points! Thank you for sharing this amazing resource with us. I’ve also discovered the reading websites panel on the right! LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Reply

    • Petra
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 16:15:51

      Jasmine,
      Thank you so much for your feedback! I love to share great reading sites that I find so it’s nice to hear that others find them useful too. I started this blog when my daughter was in preschool and now my son will be starting pre-k in the fall so a lot of my resources focus on early reading. 🙂

      Reply

      • Jasmine Weins
        Jan 30, 2014 @ 23:02:32

        Like I said, amazingly good work! I’ve had to share it with my friends as well! Thank you again!

      • Petra
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 15:25:36

        Thank you!! I really appreciate your feedback and taking the time to pass the site along. Take care!

Leave a Reply

