Resources for Finding Books and Teaching Beginning Readers

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything. Life has a way of getting in the way of my writing sometimes. Even when I don’t update often, I hope that others are still using my site as a literacy resource. There are some great links and ideas to be found on this site, and though it may not be very active, I do try to keep the links comprehensive and up-to-date. I’ve added a few new ones, so check out the links section for some great online resources for kids, parents, and teachers.

One new site I’ve recently started using is goodreads.com. If you haven’t been to this site yet, it’s an online tool that gives book recommendations based on the styles and genres you’ve enjoyed reading in the past. And you can add friends to the site to see what they’re reading and recommending. It’s a great site for anyone who loves to read, but also it can be a valuable tool for parents struggling to find books their children will enjoy reading. Especially if you have a reluctant reader who is picky with what he or she will read. The site requires registration, but it’s free.

If you have young kids and are wondering how to begin reading to them or are looking for ways to help them learn to read, check out the book How to Teach a Slug to Read by Susan Pearson. I came across this book at my local library and found it to be a cute picture book about a boy who teaches a mama slug how to teach her little slug to read. It is an informational manual on the basics of teaching beginning readers, and the wonderful illustrations by David Slonim coupled with the witty text make reading fun.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thatwritinglady
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 09:24:26

    Thanks for sharing this! I love goodreads, but it never occurred to me to use it as a curricular resource. I’m definitely going to start looking for children’s books there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

