The Power of Reading

A colleague of mine shared this humorous anecdote about her 3-year old niece. Having a 3-year old daughter and a baby on the way myself, I found this story both hilarious and relatable. Although I won’t read this book to my daughter anytime soon (simply because I can’t escape the vision of her doing the same thing), I do find this a perfect example of a child’s love of reading. Books are powerful, and I love how children connect to a good story, even at an early age. Hope you enjoy this as much as I did:
“My niece’s favorite story of the moment is “I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More” by Karen Beaumont. If you are unfamiliar with the book, a child paints all over his house. When his paints are taken away and he is told that he ‘ain’t gonna paint no more’ he decides to paint himself. One night, my sister read her daughter this book  before bed. Quite a while later, my sister and brother-in-law heard the sound of running feet through the hallway and their daughter’s voice. When they got up to go see what was going on, they found white paint footprints on their upstairs hallway carpet. Those footprints led them from the (not yet born) baby’s nursery to their daughter’s room. In her room was their daughter, covered in paint rolling around her bed laughing. In the baby’s room, there were handprints and finger paintings that their daughter had created on the walls for the new baby.
There are two lessons here:
One- never underestimate the power of reading, even if you can’t read. When asked why she did it, my niece said she ‘ain’t gonna paint no more’. The noise they heard when their daughter was running through the hall was her repeating lines from the story. She had painted not only the house, but also herself – recreating her favorite book.
Two- always check that the white paint left in the baby’s nursery has the lid securely on.”
Leave a Reply

